Wage and hour laws regulate how much an employer must pay an employee as well as the terms of employment. These laws often set forth how employees are compensated for overtime, minimum wage amounts and how time off from work is handled. Since employers are required to comply with both state and federal laws, it is imperative that they understand what these laws cover.
Minimum Wage in Kansas
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. In Kansas, $7.25 is also the minimum hourly wage. This rate applies to all workers who are over the age of 18.
Minimum Wage of Tipped Workers: Employers may pay an employee the federal tipped employee minimum wage of $2.13 per hour if the employee receives more than $30 per month in tips. However, when the employee’s wages and tips are combined, they must equal at least the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
Does Minimum Wage Apply to Me: Most Kansas employers are required to comply with the minimum wage requirements. Federal law does provide for some exemptions, including executives, administrative supervisors, computer professionals and outside salespeople. For complete information about minimum wage requirements and exemptions, employers should contact the Kansas Department of Labor.
When Are Raises Required: Since neither federal nor state law governs the circumstances under which an employee should get a raise, Kansas employers can give them at their sole discretion. In general, raises are based on the length of employment and exemplary job performance.
Work Hours in Kansas
There are no limits to the number of hours an employer can schedule an employee for, unless the employee is under the age of 16. The employer can not only set the employee’s hours, it can change those hours at any time without notice to the employee.
Paying Overtime: Employers in Kansas are required to pay workers 1.5 times their normal wages for any time over 46 hours in one work week. This law applies to salaried workers as well, although there are a few exceptions. Professional, executive and administrative employees are exempt from overtime, as are outside salespeople and agricultural workers. Domestic service employees, inmates and car salespeople are also exempt.
Guaranteed Breaks and Meals: There are no state or federal laws governing meal or rest breaks for Kansas employees. If an employer chooses to give breaks, such breaks are considered a benefit. However, employers are required to make accommodations for nursing mothers under federal law. A nursing mother is guaranteed break time to express milk for up to one year after her baby is born.
Paid Time Off and Sick Pay: There is no requirement that Kansas employers provide sick leave, vacation time or holiday pay to employees unless a contract or agreement is in place that specifically states otherwise. If an employer chooses to provide such benefits, however, it is obligated to provide the time off as agreed or it may be in violation of the law.
Notice Period for Employee Termination: Employment in Kansas is considered “at-will,” meaning that the worker is employed at the will of the employer. No notice is required if the employer wants to terminate an employee. As long as the employer is not letting the worker go for any kind of discriminatory or retaliatory reason, he or she is able to terminate the employee at any time and for any basis the employer wishes.
Plant Closings & Layoffs: There is no state law in Kansas governing plant closings and layoffs. Federal law allows for 60 days’ notice to employees in the event of a plant closing or layoff, but only for companies with at least 100 full-time employees and a minimum of 100 workers whose combined weekly work hours total at least 4,000.Legal Disclaimer
The content on our website is only meant to provide general information and is not legal advice. We make our best efforts to make sure the information is accurate, but we cannot guarantee it. Do not rely on the content as legal advice. For assistance with legal problems or for a legal inquiry please contact you attorney.