Wage and hours laws are intended to give employers guidelines as to how much their employees may work within a day or weeks’ time and how those employees will be compensated for work performed. Most states have their own wage and hour laws, but in some cases, federal rules may apply.
Minimum Wage in Nevada
The minimum wage in Nevada is $7.25 per hour with insurance, or $8.25 per hour if insurance is not provided. The federal minimum wage is also $7.25 per hour. When the federal minimum wage increases, Nevada’s automatically increases alongside it.
Minimum Wage of Tipped Workers: In the state of Nevada, the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour regardless of whether employees also receive tips for work performed. Tips may not factor in to an employer’s duty to compensate employees with at least the minimum hourly wage.
Does Minimum Wage Apply to Me: Nevada’s minimum wage laws apply to most employees, although there are a number of exceptions. Casual babysitters, agricultural employees, domestic workers who work and reside in the same home and taxi and limo drivers are examples of minimum wage-exempt employees. Contact the Nevada Department of Business and Industry’s Office of the Labor Commissioner for more information about exemptions
When Are Raises Required: Nevada’s employers are not required by law to grant their employees raises. Typically, whether a raise is given is a private matter handled between the employer and the employee.
Work Hours in Nevada
Nevada does not regulate the number of hours within a day or week an adult employee may work. However, those under the age of 16 may not work more than eight hours in one day or 48 hours within a workweek.
Paying Overtime: Employees who work more than eight hours within a 24-hour period and who earn less than one and a half times Nevada’s minimum wage ($12.38/$10.88) must be given overtime pay for any hours worked above eight. Those who make more than one and one half times Nevada’s minimum wage must be given overtime pay for hours that surpass 40 in one work week. There are exceptions, however. One exception to this rule is in the case that an employee works four 10-hour shifts within a standard workweek.
Guaranteed Breaks and Meals: Nevada’s employers must grant their workers paid 10-minute breaks for every four hours on the job. When eight or more hours are worked, the employer must grant employees an unpaid, 30-minute break. Nevada does not have its own laws relevant to breastfeeding in the workplace. Therefore, the state follows federal rules, which dictate that employers must provide a clean, private place for working mothers to breastfeed and a reasonable timeframe in which to do so for a full year after the birth of a child.
Paid Time-off and Sick Pay: Nevada’s employers are not bound by law to offer paid or unpaid sick leave, although many do as a courtesy. Public employees in the state accrue 1 ¼ days of sick pay for each month worked in a year.
Notice Period for Employee Termination: Because Nevada is an “employment-at-will” state, its employers have the right to terminate an employee at virtually any time and for any reason. They may not, however, terminate or discriminate against employees on the basis of sex, color, race, age, disability, nation or origin or religion.
Plant Closings & Layoffs: In terms of plant closings and layoffs, Nevada’s employees are covered under the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN). Accordingly, those who employ at least 100 full-time employees, or at least 100 employees who collectively work 4,000 or more hours in a week, must grant employees written notice of upcoming closings or layoffs at least 60 days prior to the occurrence.Legal Disclaimer
The content on our website is only meant to provide general information and is not legal advice. We make our best efforts to make sure the information is accurate, but we cannot guarantee it. Do not rely on the content as legal advice. For assistance with legal problems or for a legal inquiry please contact you attorney.