Wage and hour laws set the basic standards for what employees receive as payment in Utah and how much they should work. Issues covered under these laws include minimum wage, as well as what employers should pay for tips, rest breaks, meals and other related situations. It is imperative for employers to be aware of these laws so they can enforce them appropriately in the workplace.
Minimum Wage in Utah
In Utah, the minimum wage is $7.25 for every hour worked, which is the same amount as the federally-mandated minimum wage.
Minimum Wage of Tipped Workers: Employers can pay their workers who receive tips as part of their wage a lower hourly minimum rate. In Utah, employers must pay these workers an hourly wage of $2.13. However, both this hourly wage and the tips the employees receive have to cumulatively total the standard minimum wage of $7.25 for every hour worked. If this does not occur, employers must make up the difference.
Does Minimum Wage Apply to Me: Employers have to pay all employees the minimum wage, except for those exempt from minimum wage laws. These employees include certain disabled workers, employees who receive tips, and students in college and high school.
When Are Raises Required: Utah does not have any laws in place governing how raises are issued. For this reason, employers generally come to an agreement with their employees regarding when raises are given and what standards for productivity have to be met.
Work Hours in Utah
In Utah, a standard work week is 40 hours. Any employees who exceed this number of hours worked are eligible to receive overtime pay.
Paying Overtime: Employers have to pay their employees an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times the rate they make on a regular basis. Due to this, the overtime minimum wage in the state is $10.88 for every hour worked. Additionally, all employees who work more than 0 hours in a single day are eligible to receive overtime pay. However, these laws do not apply to some farm workers, seasonal workers and independent contractors.
Guaranteed Breaks and Meals: No state laws in Utah exist pertaining to guaranteed meals and breaks, and the same is true on the federal level. However, there are still laws that apply specifically to minors in regards to taking breaks during the course of their workday. For example, workers under the age of 18 are to receive a break within five hours after starting a shift. Minors are also entitled to rest breaks of at least 10 minutes for every continuous three-hour period they work.
Paid Time-Off and Sick Pay: In Utah, employers are not required to provide paid time-off or sick pay to employees. If employers choose to establish practices regarding paid time-off and sick pay, they must abide by these policies.
Notice Period for Employee Termination: Since Utah is an “at-will” employment state, employers can terminate employees for any reason, or no reason at all. However, this law does not apply in situations where an employment contract exists or when unlawful discrimination has occurred. For example, employers are not allowed to terminate employees on the basis of disability, gender identity, pregnancy, sexual orientation or national origin.
Plant Closings & Layoffs: Under the Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act, which is a federal law, some employers are required to notify their employees in the event of a plant closing or mass layoff. Employers who are subject to the requirements in this act include those with at least 100 full-time employees and those with employees who work a combined 4,000 hours on a weekly basis.Legal Disclaimer
The content on our website is only meant to provide general information and is not legal advice. We make our best efforts to make sure the information is accurate, but we cannot guarantee it. Do not rely on the content as legal advice. For assistance with legal problems or for a legal inquiry please contact you attorney.