In Nebraska, there are certain laws that govern how much time an employee is allowed to work and how much the employee should be paid for that time. These laws can cover a variety of different topics, including what employee rights are regarding rest and meals and what is viewed as time worked. Employers need to gain an understanding of what these laws entail so that they can remain in compliance with them.
Minimum Wage in Nebraska
The minimum wage in Nebraska is $9 for every hour worked. This is higher than the federally mandated minimum wage, which is $7.25 per hour.
Minimum Wage of Tipped Workers: Employers are allowed to pay their workers who receive tips an hourly wage as low as $2.13 per hour. When paying their employees at this rate, the employees’ hourly wages plus their tips must total the minimum wage. If employees do not reach this amount, employers are required to make up the difference.
Does Minimum Wage Apply to Me: Minimum wage laws apply to all employers in Nebraska except for those who have fewer than four employees. However, employers with less than four employees are still required to pay their employees at least the federal minimum wage.
When Are Raises Required: There are no laws specifically outlining when employers in Nebraska are required to give their workers raises. For this reason, employers generally provide their employees with raises based on a mutual agreement that takes into account many factors, such as productivity and the quality of work performed.
Work Hours in Nebraska
There are no laws governing how many hours can be worked per day or per week in Nebraska or at the federal level. However, minors between the ages of 14 and 15 years old are not allowed to work more than eight hours in any given day or more than 48 hours in one week.
Paying Overtime: Employers in Nebraska are required to pay their employees who work more than 40 hours in any given work week 1.5 times their regular hourly rate. This means that employees are entitled to receive an hourly overtime rate of at least $13.50 per hour.
Guaranteed Breaks and Meals: Employers in mechanical establishments, workshops and assembly plants must give their employees a 30-minute lunch break for every shift that reaches eight hours in length. In other businesses, employers do not have to provide their employees with breaks, regardless of the length of the work shift. Additionally, while Nebraska law does not set forth any requirements for employers regarding nursing mothers, federal law mandates that employers must provide reasonable break time for nursing employees to express breast milk for one year after their child is born.
Paid Time Off and Sick Pay: Employers in Nebraska are not required to provide their employees with paid or unpaid vacation time and sick pay. However, if they do choose to offer these benefits, they must outline them in an established policy or in a contract.
Notice Period for Employee Termination: Nebraska is an “at-will” employment state. This means that employers are allowed to terminate employees for any reason or for no reason at all. However, employers are not permitted to fire employees on this basis if they have discriminated against them or if there is an employment contract in place forbidding it.
Plant Closings & Layoffs: When employers in Nebraska close a plant or lay off a large number of workers, their employees have certain rights under the Worker Adjustment and Retaining Notification Act, which is a federal law. For instance, employers are required to give their employees 60 days of notice in the event of a mass layoff. However, this law does not apply to employers with workers who work less than a combined 4,000 hours a week or those with less than 100 full-time employees.
The content on our website is only meant to provide general information and is not legal advice. We make our best efforts to make sure the information is accurate, but we cannot guarantee it. Do not rely on the content as legal advice. For assistance with legal problems or for a legal inquiry please contact you attorney.