Wage and hour laws in Hawaii determine how much workers are required to be paid for their work and when employees should be paid for their time. These laws can cover a wide range of topics, including when raises are required, if tipped workers must receive the minimum wage and what rights employees have when it comes to sick pay. Employers should gain a full understanding of these laws so they are able to comply with them at all times.
Minimum Wage in Hawaii
In Hawaii, the minimum wage is $7.75 for every hour worked. This is slightly higher than the federal minimum wage, which is $7.25.
Minimum Wage of Tipped Workers: Employers are allowed to pay tipped workers in Hawaii below the minimum wage by using tip credit. When employers choose to do this, however, they must make sure their employees are still receiving a wage of at least $7.75 for every hour worked.
Does Minimum Wage Apply to Me: Most employers in Hawaii are required to pay their employees the state-mandated minimum wage. Under FLSA guidelines, this requirement also applies to employers involved in handling, selling, product production and other industries involving interstate commerce.
When are Raises Required: In Hawaii or on the federal level, there are no laws dictating how often employers are required to provide their employees with raises or how much these raises should be. Generally, employers give their employees raises based upon a mutual agreement that takes into account factors such as the quality of work performed and overall productivity.
Work Hours in Hawaii
Employees who work more than eight hours in any given work day are not considered to be working overtime. However, this standard does not apply to employees working on state or county public works construction projects.
Paying Overtime: When employees in Hawaii work more than 40 hours over a seven-day period, they are entitled to receive overtime pay. When this occurs, employees should receive 1.5 times their regular pay rate. For this reason, the minimum overtime wage in the state is $11.63.
Guaranteed Breaks and Meals: Employers in Hawaii do not have to provide their employees with paid rest periods and meal breaks. If they choose to do so, they can outline their standards in their own policy. This standard does not apply to workers who are 14 and 15-year-old workers, however, as employees in this age group are entitled to receive a 30-minute meal period every time they work for five consecutive hours. Under federal law, mothers who need to express breast milk must receive adequate break time to do so until their child reaches one year of age.
Paid Time Off and Sick Pay: No laws exist in Hawaii requiring employers to provide their employees with paid time off for holidays or for sickness. If employers decide to provide their employees with these benefits, they must outline them in their policies and follow them.
Notice Period for Employee Termination: Since Hawaii is an “at will” work state, employers can terminate employees for any reason or no reason at all. However, employees who have a contract with their employee must be notified of why they were terminated. Additionally, this law does not apply to employees who are members of a union with a Collective Bargaining Agreement.
Plant Closings & Layoffs: Employers who have 50 or more employees in Hawaii are required to give their employees 60 days of notice before they perform a plant closing or go through with a mass layoff. In addition, employers must provide their employees with unemployment benefits for a total of four weeks in certain situations and pay their employees with any compensation or other benefits they are eligible for effective on the day of the plant closing or layoff.Legal Disclaimer
The content on our website is only meant to provide general information and is not legal advice. We make our best efforts to make sure the information is accurate, but we cannot guarantee it. Do not rely on the content as legal advice. For assistance with legal problems or for a legal inquiry please contact you attorney.